Second conference on the
Analysis of Mobile Phone Datasets and Networks

October 10-11, 2011
MIT (Media Lab), Cambridge, MA

Mobile phone datasets have become widely available in recent years and have opened the possibility to improve our understanding of large-scale social networks by investigating how people exchange information, build trust, create markets and develop social interactions. Mobile phone data is also helping us understand complex processes such as the spread of information and viruses or transportation and the use of urban infrastructures.

Given the success of NetMob2010 we have decided to organize a second edition. NetMob2011 will take place (again!) at the Media Lab at MIT and will be co-located with the 
Third IEEE Conference on Social Computing. The conference format of the first NetMob will be essentially unchanged: one track of short contributed talks, a simplified submission procedure, no proceedings (except for a book of abstracts), and the possibility to present recent results or results submitted elsewhere.

We hope to see you there and look forward catching up with the latest developments in mobile phone dataset analysis.
eep in touch with the latest news!
You are interested in the scientific analysis of mobile phone datasets? Consider then joigning the low-traffic newsletter NetMobNews. Simply send an email to with "subscribe netmob yourname" in the subject line (where "yourname" is your first and last name). You can also subscribe/unsubscribe by going to
Submission deadline: July 15, 2011
Notification of acceptance: August 30, 2011
Conference: October 10-11, 2011

On the sixth floor of the Media Lab (building E14 on MIT campus, map available here).
Program and abstracts
The review process is over. The scientific committee has selected 36 submissions for presentation. There will also be two plenary talks by Laszlo Barabasi (Northeastern), and by Sandy Pentland (MIT). All conference participants are welcome to attend a half-day tutorial on Sunday on "Toolkits for Computational Social Science" and a Progressive Rock event (at the Medialab) by Joe Paradisio on Monday evening. The book of abstracts is available here (127 pages, 16MB). 
Registration is available; please follow the link to register. We have limited seating available and registration will be processed on a first-come first-serve basis.

It has not been possible to offer free registration this year. Registration covers coffee breaks, two light lunches, a copy of the program and (quite likely) a surprise festive social event at the Media Lab on Monday evening. There are two rates: Regular (260 USD) and a limited number of Student registrations (100 USD). We will require a current university ID to confirm the student rate when you check in at the conference. 
Submissions All contributions that deal with the analysis of mobile phone datasets are welcome. There will be no published proceeding. The material submitted to the workshop may also be submitted elsewhere. Authors are invited to submit an abstract of one to three pages by the deadline of July 15, 2011. Submissions should include the title, author(s), affiliation(s) and e-mail address(es) on the first page. Pages of the abstract should not be numbered. Electronic submission of manuscripts in PDF format is required. You may want to look here for the book of abstracts of the last edition. Please send your manuscript directly to by July 15, 2011.

The evaluation of submitted abstracts will be organized by the scientific committee. Once an abstract has been accepted for presentation, at least one author is required to attend the workshop and present the paper. 
Scientific committee Co-chair: Vincent Blondel, UCLouvain (Belgium) and MIT
Co-chair: Alex (Sandy) Pentland, Media Lab, MIT
Rein Ahas, University of Tartu (Estonia)
Samuel Arbesman, Harvard University
Laszlo Barabasi, Northeastern University
Nicholas Christakis, Harvard University
Rob Claxton, British Telecom (UK)
Massimo Colonna, Telecom Italia (Italy)
Nicolas de Cordes, Orange Group Strategy (France)
Nathan Eagle, txteagle
Kenth Engø-Monsen, Telenor (Norway)
Alexandre Gerber, AT&T Research
Marta Gonzales, MIT
Cesar Hidalgo, Media Lab, MIT
Kimmo Kaski, Aalto University (Finland)
János Kertész, Budapest University of Technology (Hungary)
Renaud Lambiotte, University of Namur (Belgium)
Juha Laurila, Nokia Research (Switzerland)
David Lazer, Northeastern University
Franck Legendre, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
Esteban Moro Egido, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (Spain)
Nuria Oliver, Telefonica Research (Spain)
Jukka-Pekka Onnela, Harvard University
Dino Pedreschi, Università di Pisa (Italy)
Daniele Quercia, University of Cambridge (UK)
Carlo Ratti,
Senseable City Lab, MIT
Jari Saramäki, Aalto University (Finland)
Zbigniew Smoreda, Orange Labs (France)
John Tsitsiklis, MIT
Paul Van Dooren, UCLouvain (Belgium)
Alexander Varshavsky, AT&T Labs
Organizing committee Chair: Vincent Blondel, UCLouvain (Belgium) and MIT
Francesco Calabrese, IBM Research (Ireland) and MIT
Yves-Alexandre de Montjoye, Media Lab, MIT
Gautier Krings, UCLouvain (Belgium)
Dashun Wang, Northeastern University