NetMob 2013

May 1-3, 2013, MIT

Third conference on the Analysis of Mobile Phone Datasets

With a special event on the Data for Development (D4D) challenge.

"I can't say how impressed I was with the quality and quantity of the submissions."
"There is some incredibly good work in here."

Anonymous reviewers

May 1, 2013. The following documents are available for the conference:
NetMob program. The final program for NetMob (3MB). A printed copy will be available at the conference.
Book of abstracts. The book of abstract for NetMob (40MB). This document contains a short description of the NetMob presentations (excluding the D4D session). A printed copy will be available at the conference.
D4D book. The D4D book (122 MB). This book contains copies of all the submissions to the D4D challenge that have been selected for NetMob. It is a large file (850 pages).

April 24, 2013. The final program for NetMob 2013 and D4D is now avaible for download: NetMob 2013 program (1MB). A printed copy will be available at the conference. Practical informations for participants is also available here: NetMob 2013 practical information.

March 15, 2013. The submissions are still under review. We expect to post a conference program here on March 22. Authors of submissions will be informed by email as soon as the program is available. Information about accommodation is given below.

March 1, 2013. We have received an unexpectedly large number of submissions and have decided to have the conference over three days (May 1-3) rather than two. May 1 will be for D4D and May 2-3 will be for NetMob. The registration fees are unmodified.

This is an example of a HTML caption with a link.
The MIT Media Lab where the conference will be taking place.
Special session for the winning entries of the D4D challenge
Sponsored by Orange


The 2013 edition of NetMob will take place at the Media Lab at MIT in a conference format similar to that of the previous editions: one track of short contributed talks, a simplified submission procedure, no proceedings (except for a book of abstracts), and the possibility to present recent results or results submitted elsewhere (see NetMob 2010 and NetMob 2011 for previous editions).


  • Submission deadline: February 15, 2013
  • Notification of acceptance: March 15, 2013
  • Deadline for early registration: April 10, 2013
  • Conference: May 1-3, 2013

Organizing Commitee

Chair: Vincent Blondel, University of Louvain (Belgium) and MIT
Pierre Deville, University of Louvain (Belgium)
Yves-Alexandre de Montjoye, MIT
Jameson Toole, MIT
Vincent Traag, University of Louvain (Belgium)
Dashun Wang, Northeastern University

Mobile phone datasets

The availability of mobile phone datasets has opened the possibility to improve our understanding of large-scale social networks by investigating how people exchange information, build trust, create markets and develop social interactions. Mobile phone datasets can also be used to analyze mobility and better understand complex processes such as the spread of information and viruses or transportation and the use of urban infrastructures.


All contributions that deal with the scientific analysis of mobile phone datasets are welcome.

The material submitted to the workshop may also be submitted elsewhere. Authors are invited to submit an abstract of one to three pages. Submissions should include the title, author(s), affiliation(s) and e-mail address(es) on the first page. Pages of the abstract should not be numbered. Electronic submission of manuscripts in PDF format is required (you may want to look at the book of abstracts of the last edition). Please send your manuscript to by February 15, 2013.

The evaluation of submitted abstracts will be organized by the scientific committee. Once an abstract has been accepted for presentation, at least one author is required to attend the conference and present the paper

Practical information

The conference will take place on the Sixth floor of the Media Lab (building E14 on MIT campus). There are many hotels and accommodation available close to campus; a list of accommodations for all budgets is available here. The conference organizers do not organize accommodation.


The full program will be available here in March 2013. The program will include a special event for the Data for Development (D4D) challenge, including an award ceremony for the winning entries.


Registration is available at
We have limited seating available and registration will be processed on a first-come first-serve basis.

Registration includes coffee breaks, light lunches, and a registration package. We have a limited number of student registrations available (please note that we require a current university ID to confirm the student rate at conference check-in). Early registration rates are available until April 10, 2013.

Keeping in touch

You are interested in the scientific analysis of mobile phone datasets?

Consider then joigning the low-traffic newsletter NetMobNews. Simply send an email to with "subscribe netmob yourname" in the subject line (where "yourname" is your first and last name). You can also subscribe/unsubscribe by going to

Scientific Commitee

Co-chair: Vincent Blondel, University of Louvain (Belgium) and MIT
Co-chair: Alex (Sandy) Pentland, MIT Media Lab
Karl Aberer, EPFL (Switzerland)
Rein Ahas, University of Tartu (Estonia)
Samuel Arbesman, Harvard University
Laszlo Barabasi, Northeastern University
Dirk Brockmann, Northwestern University
Francesco Calabrese, IBM Research Dublin (Ireland)
Augustin Chaintreau, Columbia University
Nicholas Christakis, Harvard University
Rob Claxton, British Telecom (UK)
Vittoria Colizza, Inserm (France)
Massimo Colonna, Telecom Italia (Italy)
Nicolas de Cordes, Group Marketing, Orange (France)
Yves-Alexandre de Montjoye, MIT
Nathan Eagle, txteagle
Kenth Engø-Monsen, Telenor (Norway)
Marta Gonzales, MIT
Pedro Ferreira, Carnegie Mellon University
Cesar Hidalgo, Media Lab, MIT
Bernardo A. Huberman, HP Labs
Kimmo Kaski, Aalto University (Finland)
János Kertész, Budapest University of Technology (Hungary)
Gautier Krings, Real Impact (Belgium)
Renaud Lambiotte, University of Namur (Belgium)
Juha Laurila, Nokia Research (Switzerland)
David Lazer, Northeastern University
Franck Legendre, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
Sune Lehmann, Technical University of Denmark (Denmark)
Cecilia Mascolo, University of Cambridge (UK)
Veena B. Mendiratta, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent
Esteban Moro Egido, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid (Spain)
Nuria Oliver, Telefonica Research (Spain)
Jukka-Pekka Onnela, Harvard University
Dino Pedreschi, Università di Pisa (Italy)
Daniele Quercia, University of Cambridge (UK)
Carlo Ratti, Senseable City Lab, MIT
Jari Saramäki, Aalto University (Finland)
Frank Schweitzer, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)
Zbigniew Smoreda, Orange Labs (France)
Pål Sundsøy, Telenor (Norway)
Andy Tatem, University of Florida
Patrick Thiran, EPFL (Switzerland)
John Tsitsiklis, MIT
Paul Van Dooren, University of Louvain (Belgium)
Alexander Varshavsky, AT&T Labs